Within the tenth match of IPL 2021, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) clashed with Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.
After profitable the toss, RCB captain Virat Kohli determined to bat first and opened the innings with Devdutt Padikkal.
Then again, KKR skipper Eoin Morgan requested off-spinner Harbhajan Singh to bowl the very first over of the innings. Singh conceded simply six runs in that over. The following strike bowler, Varun Chakravarthy, bowled a dot ball earlier than taking Kohli’s wicket. The leggie tosses up the ball, which Kohli determined to play by way of the covers. Kohli misjudged the flip of the ball and was caught brilliantly by Rahul Tripathi.
The following three balls noticed the brand new batsman Rahul Patidar and Padikkal rotate strike. On the final ball of the over, Chakravarthy deceived Patidar by bowling a flatter supply, who edged it, and the ball hit the stumps. Thus, Chakravarthy confirmed the pavilion to 2 top-order RCB batters in simply his first over.
Nevertheless, the transfer that shocked everybody was when Morgan determined to interchange his main wicket-taker of the match with Shakib-Al-Hassan within the subsequent over of his spell. Although Shakib was economical initially, the opposition’s batters smashed him for 17 runs in his subsequent over. Thus, the in-form-batsman Glenn Maxwell and Padikkal strengthened the fallen ranks of the Bangalore-based franchise. The 2 placed on a partnership of 89 runs, and the match slipped away from the palms of KKR.
RCB went onto post 204/4 in their allotted 20 overs. Maxwell made 78 runs off 49 balls at a strike charge of 159.18.
In the meantime, the previous KKR captain Gautam Gambhir opined that Morgan’s resolution to not let Chakravarthy bowl one other over in the identical spell was the weirdest resolution he had ever seen.
“Virat Kohli was an enormous wicket, little doubt about it. However that needs to be the weirdest type of captaincy I’ve ever seen in my life. Somebody taking two wickets within the first over, after which doesn’t get to bowl the subsequent one,” Gambhir stated on Star Sports activities.
The southpaw reasoned that had Chakravarthy picked up one other wicket or dismissed Maxwell, the sport might have turned within the Kolkata-based franchise’s favour.
“In all probability when you already know the in-form batter is in. You might have most likely seen the sport within the first six overs, had Varun Chakravarthy had picked the third wicket or dismissed Glenn Maxwell. This recreation might have been over there after which,” the previous Indian opener added.
Gambhir gave a back-handed praise to Morgan, saying that had an Indian captain made such a call, he would have been topic to huge criticism.
“I’m completely satisfied that an Indian captain didn’t make this blunder. As a result of lots of people would have really acquired their daggers out had an Indian captain made this name. That was most likely essentially the most ridiculous captaincy I’ve ever seen,” Gambhir stated.
The cricketer-turned-commentator additional slammed Morgan, saying that he had no phrases to explain this absurd resolution.
“I can’t clarify that. As a result of there isn’t a terminology for it – when somebody has taken two wickets, and an in-form batter is in and you are taking off your wicket-taking choice within the subsequent over,” he signed off.